Great Soldering Iron Tip replacements / Solder

Lineout

Joined Nov 20, 2013
Hi ,

I understand heat destroys the tips, sadly I'm not able to do much about that.

I've been trying sanding and scraping , but is there a tip that lasts longer, something I can buy a pak of ?

Also what is a great solder for adhering to wire, terminals, resistors etc...
I seem to like the fairly thin solder over the thick , but not sure of best type or type and brand.

Thanks....

TheComet

Joined Mar 11, 2013
In order to assure a long life of your tip, you need to operate your soldering iron at the lowest temperature possible. For instance, I solder all SMDs with 350°C, and THDs with 380°C. You also need to keep the tip covered in solder whenever you're not using it - even for short periods of time.

If you do it correctly, a tip will last for at least 6 months, given you solder every day of the week.

There are a lot of "brands" of solder, but I'm no expert on what's good for what. It depends what composition you're using. "Thick" and "thin" doesn't have any meaning.

Lineout

Joined Nov 20, 2013
In order to assure a long life of your tip, you need to operate your soldering iron at the lowest temperature possible. For instance, I solder all SMDs with 350°C, and THDs with 380°C. You also need to keep the tip covered in solder whenever you're not using it - even for short periods of time.

If you do it correctly, a tip will last for at least 6 months, given you solder every day of the week.

There are a lot of "brands" of solder, but I'm no expert on what's good for what. It depends what composition you're using. "Thick" and "thin" doesn't have any meaning.
Thanks.....

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
For electronics use Alloy 60/40 solder with a rosin flux core. Use 0.8mm to 0.4mm diameter depending on application. 50/50 or 40/60 solder requires more heat to melt and make it flowing..! They are mainly used for electrical connections.