Graduation approaches

jamus

Joined Feb 11, 2013
Perhaps this isn't the right place, but please bear with me.

I am a Canadian electrical engineering student, or rather an Electrical and Computer engineering student (combined faculty). I won't be graduating for at least another year, but I must look towards the future.

Different schools have different courses in their electrical programs. I have had courses in FPGAs, microprocessors/computer systems, c programming, circuits and electronics, signal processing, electromagnetics, electric machines, and lots of calculus. Soon I will be taking courses in embedded systems, systems and control, more electronics ect.

What I had envisioned when I set out to get my degree is that I would find a job that was heavily involved with electronics. Most of the job listings that I have been seeing are in power systems however.

Are there jobs in Canada for someone with my interests? Are there any companies in the area of electronics that provide internships/coop positions to students?

I have been talking to as many people as possible (classmates, professors, coworkers ect.) and have yet to recieve a satisfactory answer. In fact I have gotten some pretty bad answers such as "If you wanted to be involved with electronics, you should have taken computer engineering".

If anyone here can provide some input it would be much appreciated.

gootee

Joined Apr 24, 2007
I don't know the Canadian EE jobs market. But you could look worldwide and see what's out there and how to find it, and then you might be in a better position to compare what Canada has to offer and what is possible.