Gradual On/Off Dimmer

TerenceH

Joined Jul 4, 2011
Hi,

I am attempting to set up LED lighting for my fish tank. I would like for this to be on a slow on and off type to simulate sunrise and sunset. I have purchased GU10 sockets which will hold dimmable LEDs. I found two devices that are close to what I want but I am not sure if they will work in this application.

I do not think this will work as it is 230V and I need 110V. http://fadisel.com/docs/R-11_English-Esp.pdf

This one has to be assembled (soldering) which I do not have the confidence that I could do this correctly. http://www.velleman.eu/downloads/0/manual_k2657.pdf

There will be roughly 25 lamps in this setup. I am thinking of running 5 to each cord and plug (not sure if that is the correct terminology). I am doing this so all lights are not at full brightness at the same time.

I am a total beginner at this so please be patient with me as I may ask the same question repeatedly to help get a better understanding.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The fadisel link says the manufacturer will provide the correct materials for 110 volt operation.

It would be helpful if you told the wattage of the LEDs.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Oops. It says, "will be provided with modifications" (not materials). That means no soldering.

TerenceH

Joined Jul 4, 2011
Thank you I did not see that. Also, it requires a minimum load of 50watts. My entire load will not be 50watts and they will be broken down into banks of 5 or so. Do you a suggestion for an alternative?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Your entire load is 30 watts (25 lamps times 1.2 watts), so you can waste some power by adding anything that uses at least 20 watts. A 25 watt light bulb?

Strange problem. Lights so efficient that you have to waste power to get them to work!

iONic

Joined Nov 16, 2007