Good capacitor?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Geronimo42, May 10, 2014.

1. Geronimo42

Thread Starter New Member

May 7, 2014
    I made a thread several days ago because I was working on a project where I was trying to charge devices with a generator and a micro USB (bare with me, I'm new at circuitry). I recently contacted the company to ask about the voltage of their generator, to which they replied it was ~3v. They had also said that the source had to have a higher voltage than the battery to be able to produce a charge, which I did not know. I researched capacitors as they increase voltage, however I'm not sure as to how much they increase voltage by. If i needed roughly 1-2 more volts would 1 capacitor be enough? (I also think the measurement for capacitors is mf, correct?)

Would 1mf (or whatever) be enough to increase voltage by 1-2 or would I need stronger? There isn't a lot of space on the board, but a very good friend of mine who worked as an electrical engineer told me that I could solder the capacitor to one of the diodes that are already soldered onto the board, is this possible?

Thank you guys again! I'm really learning a lot :)

2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

What kind of generator are you using?
    It looks like a very small power one, if it is only giving 3 Volts at the output.
    Is the output AC or DC?

Bertus

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    Start with a drawing of the circuit. Capacitors don't create voltage, they only store it. Where is this extra volt coming from? (I'll be able to see that on the drawing.)

4. Austin Clark

Dec 28, 2011