Going from Video Processing in MATLAB to Video Processing on a microprocessor/control

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by integral, Aug 19, 2010.

1. integral

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 19, 2010
    Going from Video Processing in MATLAB to Video Processing on a microprocessor/controller

I just started working on a project and the goal of the project is to replicate the results that were obtained in MATLAB on a microprocessor/controller. However I am very new to this so I need help figuring out where I need to start.

Background information (What was done in MATLAB).
    This was first done in MATLAB to see if the proposed algorithm to solve the original problem could actually work.

An input video was loaded into MATLAB.
    Code (algorithm) was written in MATLAB to process the video.
    After processing the video MATLAB outputted a ‘results video’.
    We were happy with what we saw in the ‘results video’ and now we want to design/build a standalone system that will replicate the results.

Live video will come from a webcam, enter the processor/controller board, software on the board will process the video and then output one or more signals to external devices to perform an action.

From the research that I have done online, I know that MATLAB can generate c and/or c++ code but I don’t know what the process is to go from MATLAB code to code that will work on processor/controller. What Matlab toolboxes do I need?
    What other tools and devices do I need?
    Is there a processor/controller out there that is the best suited for what we are planning on doing?
    Are there camera/board packages that are already out there that can be used?

Reading through the MathWorks website I have a feeling a need the following toolboxes but I am not sure:
    Target Support Package
    Real Time Workshop
    Real Time Workshop Embedded
  2. gootee

Apr 24, 2007