Getting started with Op Amps (and failing) - audio mixer

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by JazzyGM, Jun 7, 2012.

1. JazzyGM

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 7, 2012
    Hello, any help is appreciated, I'm fairly new to electronics/circuits but I've stumbled much earlier than I expected...

A little while ago I built myself a passive mixer (some resistors, some switches and a bit of solder). Now I've decided to take this further and build a proper mixer using op-amps so I have got myself some NE5532 opamps to use. All it needs to do is take AC signal in and produce a boosted signal - the intention will be to use a pot to vary the gain.

I am trying to build a very simple test circuit using just one op-amp to see if I can get the results (i.e. gain) I expect. My first problem was not realising the opamp needed + and - rails, so I have now taken an old ATX power supply unit and have connected the +12V and -12V rails to the appropriate Vcc connections. The power supply works and I can read ±12V (well, 11.6) across each rail.

My problem is that when I power on the 'complete' circuit, the power immediately shorts out and I don't know what I've done wrong.

I tried to lower the current going through the opamp by putting a resistor in series to each of the +12V and -12V op-amp supply lines. This stops the supply cutting out, but there's nothing detectable coming out of the opamp output either, at least not out of the attached speaker.

My circuit is basically as shown in the attached diagram.

R1 = 47k
    R2 = 470k
    therefore gain should be ~10
    R3 = 4.7k (calculated to limit drift - a concept I'm not familiar with)

and I tried it with (and without) 10k resistors on the input rails.

I've also tried a pot in series with the speaker so I can adjust the output impedence, but still get nothing.