Getting into simulation

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
I worked designing, building and programming test equipment for electronic production lines but I am now retired and doing electronics as a hobby. In these forums I have seen many examples of using simulation to test out circuit design. I have never used any such system but I think it is about time I did.
Which, preferably free, programme would be best for my usage and with a reasonably gentle learning curve?

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
I second that recommendation. As a hobbyist, I don't use circuit design and simulation software every day. One measure I have of software is how easy it is to come back to it after several months. I probably use LTSpice only a few times a year and re-familiarization goes easily.

John

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
I third the recommendation. LTS comes with a set of models, and libraries of third-party models are available for free from the Yahoo group and elsewhere. The LTS 'Help' is comprehensive, albeit somewhat terse, and the FAQ is worth a read.

ci139

Joined Jul 11, 2016
trivia
http://ltwiki.org/?title=Main_Page
http://ltwiki.org/?title=Undocumented_LTspice

/!\ however depending on your field and needs - as i see it - the LT Spice is a descriptive illustration tool to get cool plot diagrams - other words - →everything can be done← in "LT" but it took me some years to get to that←←

if you need precisely model some specific area of electronics - i suggest comparing the - paid software prices and reviews and examples and related problems and sample problems
- because there may be stuff that does everything nearby only not that what you exactly require
- usually commercial programs have demo versions

- so we have a round full - wasting 2y to find exact software you need×afford or wasting 2y to learn the spice

OBW0549

Joined Mar 2, 2015
Which, preferably free, programme would be best for my usage and with a reasonably gentle learning curve?