Generate PWM Signal with C Code?

Discussion in 'Programmer's Corner' started by blah2222, Oct 28, 2010.

1. blah2222

Thread Starter Well-Known Member

May 3, 2010
    Hi so I'm fairly new to using MCUs but I am slowly learning and would like some insight on how I would be able to generate PWM signals for a servo that is written in C.

I have an AVR Studio 4.0, an AVR Programmer and an ATMEGA168 MCU. I don't think the code should be too difficult to interpret, but I have no idea how to make use of a 'C' file with the AVR Studio or even the MCU circuit for a servo, for that matter.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thank you,
    JP

2. ELECTRONERD

May 26, 2009
    See this tutorial thread for help. Typical servo motors center at a period of 1.5mS (666.67 Hz). Any frequency greater or less than the center frequency will rotate the servo either clockwise or counter-clockwise. I think you should be able to get a general idea of what algorithms to implement for your code, I used C18 and it's pretty simple. You might also be aware that the frequency range at which servos operate is within the audible hearing frequencies.

blah2222 likes this.
  3. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009
    Here (click) is a premade library for servo control from an AVR. Just add to your AVR Studio C Project, Instructions are at the link.

If you are having problems with how to program an AVR, there are several threads here that can be found with the Forum Search (or google for many offsite howtos).

I'm more of a PIC guy, so I am not much help beyond this.

blah2222 likes this.
  4. AlexR

Jan 16, 2008
    Assuming you are running some version of Windows you will need to get a C compiler for AVR. One of the best and cheapest (it's free) is AVR-GCC for windows which you can get here http://winavr.sourceforge.net/

If you have AVR Studio installed on your PC when you install AVR-GCC it will get integrated into Studio so you will be able to write and compile C code from Studio.