General question about solar PV grid tied systems

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by jimmychacha, Dec 21, 2010.

1. jimmychacha

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 1, 2010
    Hey all, I'm an electronics student and solar energy enthusiast with a general question about grid tied systems that no one seems to have an answer to. When a solar arrray is fed into an inverter, then the AC output is fed into my breaker box, now there are two power sources fed into my box- the utility power and the pv generated power. My question is how can I be sure the loads in my home are using up all the pv power instead of the utility power? Is there an aspect of physics that governs how this usage occurs. Thanks again to all who contribute.

2. timrobbins

Aug 29, 2009
    The grid tie inverter sources power into the grid connection (ie. current flows into the AC wiring). If the current is not consummed in the house, then ipso facto (also a bit of Kirchoff) it flows out into the grid.

3. iONic

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 16, 2007
    ...and how would the power company know to give you credit when it was due??

4. Kermit2

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 5, 2010
    Ah yes! That requires a meter that can record negative use. A two way meter they are called.

And not every power utility will pay you for putting power on the grid.

The inverter output HAS to be a slightly higher voltage as measured against the AC mains or it cannot 'feed' any power into the house wiring. If every device in the house is satisfied by the inverters output and it still has ability to put out more, then that slightly higher voltage will appear at the main breaker panel and at the meter, which are connected to the grid through a transformer. The extra power will be absorbed by a neighbor in reality, but it is technically the 'grid' which let it get there.

5. thatoneguy

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2009