General Help on Understanding Digital Inputs

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Griz, Feb 12, 2014.

1. Griz

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 19, 2013
    Hi, I'm fairly new to the boards, just got into the design and tinkering phase with electronics, but I've been a mediocre technician with board repair, replacement and trouble shooting experience before, with some success.

I have been reading on and experimenting with some digital logic and digital level signals for a couple of days and need to clear up some confusion with what I've been seeing in some places.

Brass tacks is that I've always been taught, read and reminded that a DC current, even a pulsed DC current, never reverses polarity. Okay, that's the best understanding of DC I have now. Yet in some digital applications I see waveforms that would have components both above and below the zero reference point for digital signals referenced to circuit (chassis) ground. What am I not getting here? Are these actually equivalent to AC signals or not and why, please?

Thanks in advance.

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    It is rather difficult to imagine the special case you describe. Rather than stretch my mind for every kind of non-standard possibility and write a book about them, how about you name one or two?

Griz likes this.
  3. tshuck

Oct 18, 2012
    Digital doesn't necessarily mean DC, though it does denote logic levels that are, more often than not, held at some value (be it above or below chassis ground voltage) to transmit data to another device.

In fact, most digital signals have a huge AC component to them.

Griz likes this.
  4. Griz

Jun 19, 2013