Garage Automation Wiring

Karl Hammerschmidt

Joined Jun 7, 2015
Hi there,

I have had an electrical motor installed in my garage with a portable remote to open and close. I bought an "Garage Guardian Automatic Garage Door Closer and Timer" (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00KED4T8W?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_search_detailpage).

The problem I have is the "Garage Guardian" it is supposed to piggy back on the same wiring the wired door controller connects to... only I don't have a wired connect. Mine is completely via the remote (wireless). I opened the garage motor but couldn't figure out where to connect the two wires for the "Garage Guardian" (I'm a bit of a novice with electrical wiring). I've attached photos of garage motor. Please help! I'm happy to supply further info if needed.

Cheers,
Karl

Attachments

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Do you have the information on the Guardian unit? if so post it may help.
I would expect it to tie in to the man up/dn inputs?
Max.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
As a guess, GND and PUSH seem to be the terminals that are shorted together by the push-button you are supposed to install on the wall, for use when you don't have the transmitter in your hand. Your timer seems to be designed to short those 2 terminals after a delay.

This is 100% guessing. The real answer is, "Read the Instructions". Do you think we can answer you without reading the instructions? Apparently. Bad method!

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
I agree with #12. The PUSH and GND terminals are probably for a momentary switch to actuate the door. Read your manual.