Full-wave Rectifier with Smoothing Capacitor

xxxyyyba

Joined Aug 7, 2012
Hi!
I'm studying Full-wave rectifier. How would one mathematicaly descibe effect of smoothing capacitor on output voltage waveform?

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
A mathematical description would say that the derivative of voltage with respect to time is substantially reduced. While the input goes to zero, then negative, and finally crosses zero and begins rising it intersects the output and brings it back up to the peak.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Hi!
I'm studying Full-wave rectifier. How would one mathematicaly descibe effect of smoothing capacitor on output voltage waveform?
The rectifier charges the filter capacitor to the peak value of the input sine wave minus any IR drop from the transformer and the forward drop of the rectifier(s).

The energy stored in the capacitor has to supply the load current until the next peak of the full-wave rectified waveform.

What is the relationship between voltage in the capacitor and the load current? How does time effect that relationship?

Study these three circuits, and explain the three load currents.

266.gif

Last edited:

studiot

Joined Nov 9, 2007
It changes the waveshape from a full wave rectified sinewave, that drops to zero every half cycle, to a sawtooth that never drops below a certain value.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
A mathematical description of the would involve a part of the period that is a linear ramp (assuming a constant load current) and a sinusoidal ramp. The transition point would be a function of the filtering capacitor and the load current (as would the slope of the linear ramp). The mathematical model could further take into account the effect of the diodes and the source impedance.

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hi!
Hi,