FTDI Bitbang as AVR programmer

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Cue, Dec 12, 2012.

1. Cue

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 16, 2012
    I'm a beginner so please go easy on me. I have an atmega328p-pu and I'm trying to program it with an FT232RL.

I've built this circuit on a breadboard

[​IMG]

1) Am I right in assuming that with the left powerplug unplugged connecting the USB FTDI will destroy the LM7805 voltage regulator?

2) Is this the right circuit to bitbang hex files on to the atmega328p?

2. tshuck

Oct 18, 2012
    First, your RX and TX aren't going to the TX and RX pins on the uC. This may not be a problem, as you could implement a UART in software...

However, you can't program your uC like this. You'd need to program using a proper programmer in order to add a bootloader. The bootloader sits in a section of program memory and will receive UART commands and overwrite program memory, effectively reprogramming the device. You need the bootloader there first, though. The reason this works with Arduinos is because they are shipped with a preloaded bootloader. If you are using a chip taken from an Arduino, you should already have it, otherwise, you'll need a proper AVR programmer to put a bootloader on the device first.

As far as the 7805 is concerned, you shouldn't have a problem, though I've never used it like this, so I can't be sure.

3. Cue

Oct 16, 2012
    Hi tshuck, from what I have read you can burn a hex file directly with the FTDI in bitbang mode. As far as I understand it a bootloader is just another hex file, it is not necessary to program an AVR but it is for it to be compatible with the Arduino IDE which uses the TX/RX pins of the atmega328. Please correct me if I'm wrong because I'm still learning.

I actually had some moderate success since I posted my previous post. With the circuit above I set up my FTDI with the bitbang patches as per the instructions here

http://doswa.com/2010/08/24/avrdude-5-10-with-ftdi-bitbang.html