From Assembly to C

Eric007

Joined Aug 5, 2011
Hi All,

Most people that know me here know that I prefer assembly (PIC) to C and I never used C when it comes to embedded systems.

I might be forced (90% chances) to code in C, so where do I start?
I am going to try to re-write my very first project in C this weekend just to get familiar a bit.

BTW, I will *always* code in PIC assembly for personal projects.

Any guidance?

Thanks in advance

Eric007

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Have you ever programmed in a higher language? That will help.

Regardless, to me it was learning the structure and syntax. Study a Hello World C program for the basic structure.

It took me a while to learn the differences between (), [], & {}

A missing ; still haunts me.

I keep a quick reference nearby for control structures, data types, operators and common statements and functions.

I am still new to C, but have written 1,000 line programs. My first C program took me about fifteen minutes.

Eric007

Joined Aug 5, 2011

Regardless, to me it was learning the structure and syntax. Study a Hello World C program for the basic structure.

I keep a quick reference nearby for control structures, data types, operators and common statements and functions.

I am still new to C, but have written 1,000 line programs. My first C program took me about fifteen minutes.
Thank you for your reply!

Yes, I can write programs (software PC-based) in C, C++, VB.Net, and C# (my favorite).

Eric007

atferrari

Joined Jan 6, 2004

15 minutes or 6 hours but...did it work? :p

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009