Frequency modulation

Dpetervan

Joined Feb 26, 2007
I am a physician with a hobby interest in communication electronics.

I am having a difficult time understanding the concept of frequency modulation (FM). If a voltage-controlled oscillator is used to alter the carrier frequency, i.e. the frequency of the carrier will vary according to the AMPLITUDE of the modulating sgnal, how can the resultant signal accurately differentiate a low volume frequency (low voltage amplitude), from a modulating frequency of the exact same frequency but with a higher voltage amplitude (i. e. higher volume)? It seems that the resulting carrier frequency change will be of higher frequency in the latter case.

Could anyone help with the concept I am missing?

Thank you very much!

D. Peter Van

Dpetervan

Joined Feb 26, 2007
This is just to clarify my question. If, for example, I am playing the "C" note on the piano, if I play it softly, the carrier frequency will change to a certain frequency according to the amplitude of the signal. If I then play the same note loudly, the carrier frequency will then be transmitted at a higher frequency, changing the pitch that the receiving circuit sees. Am I correct, or am I missing a concept here?

Thank you again!

D. Peter Van

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
The VCO's instantaneous output frequency will follow the input voltage.
Imagine a plot of some arbitrary modulating signal vs time. Apply this signal to a VCO. Now imagine a plot of the VCO output frequency vs time. With a perfect VCO, the waveforms on the two graphs will be identical.
To demodulate the FM, you need a frequency discriminator. The output of this will be a voltage which is proportional to the input frequency.

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005