Frequency Divider Circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by karthickkumar, Apr 13, 2008.

1. karthickkumar

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 13, 2008
    HI All, I want to build a Precision frequency divide by 100 circuit, to divide a 1 KHz TTL pulse to 10Hz TTL. Can any body suggest some good circuit for it.
    Please help. I am completely new to electronics.
    THanks
    Karthick

2. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    All you need is two 7490 counters. That's not a circuit, just a bit of TTL logic. Get a data sheet and see how they work.

3. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
  4. relicmarks

Oct 13, 2006
    i thought flip flop chip circuit did frequency dividing

5. Ron H

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 14, 2005
    Look at the datasheets. A decade counter chip contains 4 flip-flops and some logic, and they are already connected together for you! The wonders of (not so) modern technology!

6. relicmarks

Oct 13, 2006
    I never understood how a flip flop can take a frequency and divide it down or convert to another frequency , whats the theory behind this please?

7. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    Look at a 7474 D flip-flop. If you run the not-Q output to the D input, then the flip-flop will change state every other clock. This has the effect of dividing the clock frequency by 2.

8. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Basically, you are "hijacking" this thread.

The original poster's request has been satisfied - this is their thread. If they have more questions, they are free to ask more, because it belongs to them.

But in brief, each flip-flop will take the input signal and divide it by two.

9. relicmarks

Oct 13, 2006
    sorry i didn't mean to hijack his theory

I just don't get how the flip flop divides the input by 2

And maybe others can learn from it too

10. Ron H

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 14, 2005
    Actually, it changes state on every clock.

11. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004