fpv rc planes

KeepYourChinUp

Joined Jun 18, 2014
Hey guys, so I just stumbled across fpv rc planes last night and spent the better part of 6 hours watching youtube videos on them and oh my god I think I've just descovered my future hobby.

It looks incredibly fun, so much better than flying in 3rd person because you can actually see your planes location all the time, see your enviroment and you feel so much more immersed, like you're actually flying the plane.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrSEyS-GpZs

So anyone here fly fpv planes? If so did you build your own and what plane do you recommend for an absolute beginner?

KeepYourChinUp

Joined Jun 18, 2014
There is also a Drone called the parrot, has two cameras and is flown by an Ipad/Iphone Android device.
http://ardrone2.parrot.com/
http://www.parrot.com/usa/products/
Max.
Those drones simply don't compare to the type of drone I linked. It's called a Skywalker X8 and they retail at about £150. Obviously that is just the plane and you need a lot of extra things for it to be the best it can be. Those android drones just look like normal rc quadcopters.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
You asked a general question 'Who fly's FPV planes?'
I did not say they were comparable, although the MRP for the Parrot is $300.00.
If you want specific FPV Plane details and recommendations, I suggest a RC forum!
Max.

KeepYourChinUp

Joined Jun 18, 2014
You asked a general question 'Who fly's FPV planes?'
I did not say they were comparable, although the MRP for the Parrot is $300.00.
If you want specific FPV Plane details and recommendations, I suggest a RC forum!
Max.
Yes I know, sorry if I seemed a bit dismissive of your post, I didn't mean it to come across that way.

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
Yup, here I am!

We had a similar thread not long ago. Read a bit on it too :http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=95803

Some prerequisites; keep them in mind to keep your hopes in check.