Fourier Transforms

Discussion in 'Math' started by jrv9090, Nov 26, 2014.

1. jrv9090

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 26, 2014
    Hello all,

This is my first post in this forum and glad to be here. I am currently studying about Fourier transforms in discrete time domain and bumped into the following doubt.

As per book, what I understand is that for discrete time aperiodic signals the frequency components ranges from -pi to +pi continuously. Now say I take two sinusoid component of some signal, Cos(2pi(n/4.5)) and Cos(2pi(n/9). These components have a fundamental frequency of 4pi/9 and 2pi/9 respectively. But when I plot them, I notice both seem to have the same fundamental period as 9 samples/oscillation.
    untitled.jpg

I have uploaded my plot above. the blue plot indicates Cos(2pi(n/4.5)) and the red on is Cos(2pi(n/9)). If they both the same fundamental period, they also should have the same fundamental frequency. But as per their equations the frequencies vary. Please let me know if I have missed some detail.

2. davebee

Oct 22, 2008
    It looks to me like the blue has twice the frequency, half the period of the red.

Why do you think they have the same period?

3. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    What makes you think they have the same fundamental frequency?

Plot the values of both functions at increments of dn = 0.1 or even finer and I think you will start to see what is going on.

4. jrv9090

Nov 26, 2014
    Thanks for the reply.