Forward Voltage

Sidewinder

Joined Jun 1, 2008
Hello, I'm pretty new to electronics (and my knowledge is limited to a one semester class in electromagnetism). I have 3 IR LED's with a forward voltage(?) of 1.2V, forward current(?) of 100mA and a radiant power output of 16mW min(?). I also have a battery pack with one 9V battery and would like to connect the LED's in parallel. How do I determine the amount of resistance I need?

Thanks

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Hello, I'm pretty new to electronics (and my knowledge is limited to a one semester class in electromagnetism). I have 3 IR LED's with a forward voltage(?) of 1.2V, forward current(?) of 100mA and a radiant power output of 16mW min(?). I also have a battery pack with one 9V battery and would like to connect the LED's in parallel. How do I determine the amount of resistance I need?

Thanks
It is not good to connect leds directly in parallel because if one led has a slightly smaller forward voltage than the others, the other leds wont light and the one led which will light will burn due to passing excessive current. Use a resistor for each leds independently and then connect them in parallel. You can use the first website thingmaker3 told you to calculate the value of the resistor for each diode.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
If you purchased those IR LEDs from Radio Shack, beware!

I have very good reason to believe that the 100mA is a typographical error on the Radio Shack package; if you attempt to put anywhere near that much current through the LED's, you will burn them up! :eek:

I had a few of those in my junkbox, so I decided to experiment with one of them using a laboratory-quality 0-54vdc 3.5a variable voltage power supply, current limiting resistor, and a reasonably accurate digital mA meter in series, while monitoring LED light output using a digital camera.