Fluid Stuff

Discussion in 'Physics' started by Mazaag, Jul 7, 2009.

1. Mazaag

Thread Starter Senior Member

Oct 23, 2004
    Hey guys,

I have no background whatsoever with fluid mechanics and have a basic question for my design.

I need to cool down a camera using a liquid coolant. It runs through tubes of a specific diameter ID and has to be set at a specific flow rate FR.

Now, the design is as follows. I will have a carboy filled with water which is gravity fed through the tube into the camera to cool it.

I understand that the height of the water inside the carboy needs to be kept constant in order to maintain a constant pressure (and avoid turbulent flow? I need to minimize vibrations).

My question is: How do I calculate the height of the water needed to get the right pressure/flow rate I need to cool the camera? I'm assuming the height of the carboy itself makes a difference...how do I take this all into account?

Thanks guys
  2. studiot

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 9, 2007
    Depending upon the budget for this project I would look at a new or old medical IV 'pump'.

These have the ability to also set and control the flow rate using gravity feed.
  3. someonesdad

Jul 7, 2009
    Do you know the mass flow rate you need to cool the camera? It sounds like you do. This translates into a flow velocity at the exit of the heat exchanger (mass flow is the fluid density multiplied by the cross sectional area and the flow velocity). This, in turn, will let you figure the fluid pressure at the exit of the heat exchanger.