1. jimtr6

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 16, 2010
    Hi, I'm completely new to pics, I ordered some pics, a programmer, and a program called FlowCode because I like the visual aspect of flowcharts and want to simplify getting into pics as much as I can. The FlowCode program has program simulation which seems to be a great advantage. Is anybody here familiar with this program? Any suggestions for a complete novice in getting started? any and all help appreciated...thanks, jim

2. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009
    In this thread http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=39603 the OP claim to have used Flowcode. The output is perhaps correct but a mess. I think the best way to learn C is by doing coding the hard way. Remember to not start with to complex projects in the beginning. Let your learning curve decide what to do next

3. jpanhalt

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 18, 2008
    I am just a novice to PIC coding and share your fondness for flowcharts. I started with Assembly, which is well suited for converting simple flow charts into code. Even if you eventually move to C, you may find a benefit in doing the first few simple programs in Assembly.

John

4. jimtr6

Jun 16, 2010
    Thanks, good advice, is the language I should get familiar with have instructions such as "BSF 03h,5" which does make sense to me as in setting bit 5 high at address 03, is this what they call assembly code or mnemonics? What I simply want to get familiar with first is reading ports (specific bits in that port) whether a high or low and learn to make a decision based on the input and program and send a desired output. thanks much for your help....jim

5. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    Agreed. Assembly is a good way to learn the actual functions that are happening in the uC.

If you ever have a problem in C finding the right command, you can call the assembly code from the C code to perform the task.

6. jpanhalt

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 18, 2008