Flicker fusion frequency

squashjosh

Joined Jul 2, 2015
Hi guys,
I'm a newbie to circuit building but was hoping for some guidance to build a circuit that I could use to determine at what frequency people start to see flicker vs no flicker (the critical flicker fusion frequency).
I need a LED (preferably red) that has a 50% duty cycle that I can adjust the frequency between 1-100Hz with a button or dial. I also need to know at what frequency the light is flickering (so some form of digital output). I'm guessing from what I've read that I need a 555 timer but beyond that I'm lost.
I couldn't find any old projects doing the same and I apologize if this is a stupid sounding project.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated
Cheers.

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi,
A 555 timer can be set for a 50% duty cycle.
The variable frequency could be achieved by using a potentiometer, which could have a frequency calibrated dial.
It may be necessary to have selectable ranges over the 1Hz to 100Hz band.

The 555 could drive a transistor/led circuit.

A word of caution, at around a flash rate of 16Hz some people can be adversely affected by the flashes.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
There is a lot more to flicker than meets the eye. You might find Joyce Farrell's An analytical method for predicting perceived flicker interesting and maybe useful in preparing your experiments.
http://scien.stanford.edu/jfsite/Papers/ImageRendering/Displays/Farrell_Flicker_1986.pdf

A problem with the NE555 is that it is not a simple matter to vary the frequency and maintain a fixed duty cycle. You could set up the NE555 as a variable frequency oscillator as shown below then follow it with a D, JK, or T flip-flop to divide it by two to get a nice square wave (shown below the NE555 circuit).

Another approach might be to use my fixed duty cycle LED strobe circuit. It is based on an LM393 dual comparator

Edit: Corrected URL per ScottWang's correction.

Last edited:

squashjosh