Flashing light

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by topsoil, Jan 13, 2011.

1. topsoil

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 13, 2011
    Hi all!

I'm asking what is probably a very simple question, so I apologize in advance (but I'm not an electronics engineer)

What I'm looking for is a way to flash a very bright red LED with a bit of randomness. As I see it a flashing light has two variables. 1) duration of the light and 2) frequency of the flash. What I need is something simple and small that will vary both of these. The duration needs to be between 1/10th of a second and 1 second. the frequency needs to be between 2 seconds and 10 seconds. Both need to appear random. As long as you cant really see a pattern it should be fine. Especially if two of these devises are used in close proximity.

I'd really like it to be simple and cheap to build and fit in a 4 inch piece of 3/4 or 1 inch PVC pipe. it would be cool if it could run off 1 or 2 C cell batteries. (length of PVC pipe is not really critical.)

Here's why...

Animal behavior experts, through scientific research, have determined that predators/deer feel threatened when they see a flash of light because they believe that flash to be the eye of another animal. The sense of being watched is the greatest fear night animals have.

I live and work on a farm and have a deer problem. I'm hoping that moving three or four of these around every few days will help deter the deer. it should help against coyotes as well.

thanks

-topsoil (aka Farmer Dale)

2. jason 77

Jul 27, 2009
    Does it "have" to be a changing flash rate/duration? I am interested in seeing if something like this would actually work, sounds like a cool project.

3. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Interesting application. I think it would wise to consider using a solar charger for this, so you could just leave it. I'm guessing it only needs to run at night, so it could charge during the day.