flashing leds

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by dd1313, May 23, 2010.

1. dd1313

Thread Starter New Member

May 23, 2010
    Hello everyone,

This is my first post.I am helping my grade 6 daughter with a science
    project.I am also new to electronics.What she wants to create is a toy
    (that is her theme).She must use just basic stuff, like LED,battery,resistors
    nothing like 555 etc,

She wants to create a stage, like the ones the ladies model on.And she will
    place 2 dolls on it.Now the outline of the stage will have flashing LEDs

Please help me understand how to do it.As far as we have researched,
    connecting the LEDs in paralell is the solution and then connecting them
    to a resistor and then to a battery.

I have researched that we should ask the electronics store for flashing LEDs.

Please help me further..

Thanks
    Devan

2. Bychon

Mar 12, 2010
    You seem to have all your ideas correct, to the point that I have trouble finding that you are asking a question. What can I say? Buy the blinking LEDs and start calculating the resistors...or buy the blinking LEDs and ask how to calculate resistors based on what you've bought.

3. dd1313

May 23, 2010
    Thank you,

If they are blinking LEDs, they don't have to be in paralell do they ?

And how do we calculate the resistance if we have the LEDs,are all LEDs the same

Thanks
    Devan

4. Bychon

Mar 12, 2010
    Blinking leds will have to be in parallel, otherwise, the first one that goes off will stop all the others.

To paraphrase your question,
    How do you calculate the resistance if you don't have any LEDs? They are not all the same. You need the LEDs specifications and the voltage you will be using to do the calculations.

(Power voltage minus the LED voltage) divide by the current needed by the LED = resistance.

5. Bychon

Mar 12, 2010
    These are available in 3 colors from www.mouser.com

They don't need any resistors.

6. dd1313

May 23, 2010