flash light help

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by mavrick, Dec 10, 2006.

1. mavrick

Thread Starter Member

Dec 10, 2006
    im trying to build a 28 volt light for hunting. i am wanting to wire a potentiometer switch on it to control the brightness level to conserve battery time. does anyone have any suggestions on the size of switch i would need. i also need some wiring help on how to wire it up. please help.

2. TrevorP

Dec 8, 2006
    how many batteries are you using?

3. mavrick

Thread Starter Member

Dec 10, 2006
    24 1.2 volt nimh batteries. so its actually 28.8 v

4. TrevorP

Dec 8, 2006
    ok here is what I would do: (mind you I'm really new to this stuff)

[​IMG]

Its probably to simple to be what you want though.

5. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    Since the parallel combination of two resistances is lower then either of them won't you actually be draining the battery faster then just the potentiometer alone?

6. mavrick

Thread Starter Member

Dec 10, 2006
    well thats definitely not to simple because i dont have a clue.

is the thing at the top where the switch goes.

what does the squiggly lines mean.

i dont have the switch yet do you have any suggestions. i looked at some different ones. 10k, 50k 500k, i dont know what they mean.

7. mavrick

Thread Starter Member

Dec 10, 2006
    i just want a switch that will set the light as bright or dim as i want it.
    make it as simple as possible. im very new to this and dont really know what im doing. any pointers would be appreciated.

8. TrevorP

Dec 8, 2006
    yes...yes you will...

See this is why I'm still a Noob.

[​IMG]

Would this not be better?

9. TrevorP

Dec 8, 2006
    Basically: (if this circuit is the best option)

S1 is your power switch.
    R1 is a variable resistor (depends on the Watt Rating of your light bulb)
    L1 is the lightbulb
    V1 is your collection of batteries.

10. mavrick

Thread Starter Member

Dec 10, 2006