Flash grenade.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Ace1911, Jul 18, 2014.

1. Ace1911

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 18, 2014
    For quite some time I've been trying to figure out the proper circuit to use. I have been designing a flash grenade for airsoft, its just leds and a siren in a small shell. I have been trying to make a circuit that has a delay power on and only stays on for about 5 seconds. Im using a 9volt battery to power everything. I just need someone to help me with the circuit. Im fairly new to this so please any help is appreciated.

2. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010
    Let me get this right.

User pushes a button. This starts a delay of X seconds (or minutes). Once delay X end, the devices turns on for 5 seconds, then tuns off. Right?

3. Ace1911

Jul 18, 2014
    Yes exactly.

4. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010
    Hm. For me, the 5 second ON time is easy. The hard part, for me, is how to have a delay between the user pushing the button and the 5 second ON time.

I know a few people around here who are going to call me names... But the only way I see how to do the whole thing is to use a microcontroller. It is probably lack of experience on my part, but I just don't see how to have a timed delay and then have timed ON time. With a microcontroller, I can have the button, I can have the delay and I can have the 5 second ON time after the delay. The microcontrollers are small, most of them work from 9 volts, programming resources are usually free, that is how I would do it.

5. Ace1911

Jul 18, 2014
    Thank you very much. Ill look into that.

6. Alec_t

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 17, 2013
    A microcontroller would be the most compact solution, but if you wanted instead to use discrete components you could do it like this with a single IC :

BeerBelly and sirch2 like this.
  7. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010