Fixing a hum in audio amplifier

mbuiter

Joined Jul 4, 2015
Dear forum users,

Please excuse me if I have come to the wrong location with my question (and excuse my terminology, I am no expert). I have spend many hours trying to detect and fix the problem I'll describe below, but I got stuck.

I have got a power amplifier (NAD T761) which has a loud hum on its output, the hum is about 50 Hz judging by its sound. After having opened it I found and replaced a burst capacitor (C104 in the schema, next to the U125 7805 IC), but this didn't fix the problem. After the problem persisted, I bought a second-hand scope to investigate further. The scope shows repetitive power fluctuations on the outputs of both 7805 ICs. Going by this knowledge, I replaced both 7805s (U125 and U123) but still the problem persists. I have included a picture of the scope, showing the power fluctuations on the output of the U123 7805 IC (scope settings AC coupled, 0.1V/div, 5ms/div). Similar fluctuations (somewhat different shape, same frequency) are found on the output of the U125 7805 IC. The output of the U121 IC is free of any such fluctuations. Apart from the fluctuations, the 7805s output a decent 5V.

The attached schematic is part of a (much) larger schematic describing the digital processing board of the amp. I expect this board to be the source (or partly the source) of the trouble, because if I switch the amp's input to external 5.1 input (bypassing this board), the sound is crisp and clear. The board contains both digital and analogue circuitry.

One coincidental (accidental) find that I did is that when I very briefly short-circuit the U123 output, the power fluctuations disappear completely (and the amp continues to work, without hum :)). The power fluctuations return when I switch input channels, as that apparently resets some systems, and the hum returns.