First post 555 astab

kenteroo

Joined Mar 20, 2013
Hello everyone,

I am a newb to circuits. I am building a compressed water rocket and want a simple apogee detector that can deploy a parachute. I decided to use a mercury switch to trigger a servo to go from 0-180 degrees and release a rubber band. Simple, right?

I found a bunch of circuits to do this and no two are wired the same (?). That, and they don't seem to necessarily work.

So my newb questions are these.
1) Is this normal?
2) It seems that there are many ways to skin this cat. I see posts from experienced members referencing a circuit and they say "that'll never work" although others have built the circuit and it worked for them.
3) Notation. Ex: Diagrams reference nanofarads frequently, and yet retailers often reference microfarads only and then want to ignore a leading decimal character when searching, for example. Is this an attempt to torture us newbs?

Anyway, I built a circuit based up this one:

http://www.hvlabs.com/555servo.html

Which appears to be based upon this one:

http://www.sentex.ca/~mec1995/gadgets/servo3.htm

I chose these because they appeared to be the simplest. Was this a mistake?

It was stated by a member here that 68k ohms was way too high for both these circuits. Why would Tony van Roon do that, then?

Does any one have a step by step for one of these circuits? If I make a video of me building it step by step on my breadboard would that be worth doing? I'm willing to do it in hopes somebody would be able to quickly say "In step 7 you have the diode backwards" for example. Or would that be a waste of time? I really don't want to spend a lot of time collecting resistors and capacitors to try every circuit out there. I also don't want to spend a ton of time getting my own version of an EE degree just to build a basic servo controller (which is what I am about to do).