First LED project: 300w grow lamp

drdallon

Joined Aug 7, 2012
I have been doing research in LED lights, and have decided rather than buying one for $1500 I would like to build one my self. I have limited knowledge of LEDs/any form of electrical engineering. But from what I have read these light fixtures are fairly easy to do a DIY build. I want to build a 300w using 100 7:3 red:blue LEDs

So for this project I will be using an aluminum heatsink from heatsink USA, arctic silver alumina epoxy to bind the LEDs to the heatsink.

LEDs: 620-630nm red

Type: LED Package Type: Surface Mount Max. Forward Voltage: 2.5V Max. Reverse Voltage: 7.0V Max. Forward Current: 700mA Max. Reverse Current: 1uA high power 3w led: red led
440nm blue

Type: LED Package Type: Surface Mount Max. Forward Voltage: 3.0-3.4v Max. Reverse Voltage: 5v Max. Forward Current: 700mA Max. Reverse Current: 2-5uA
My main question is what exactly would be the most efficient/cost effective way of powering these in a 10x10 array(if i can). Any help would be great, Thanks you guys!!!

PS:I would also like to be able to power 2-4 computer fans to cool the heatsink.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
This subject has come up quite a bit. I'm short on time, but I'll post some of the past ideas for in a day or so.

Using advanced search, use key words "grow lights'.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
...what exactly would be the most efficient/cost effective way of powering these in a 10x10 array(if i can). Any help would be great, Thanks you guys!!!

PS:I would also like to be able to power 2-4 computer fans to cool the heatsink.
IMHO, the fastest and cheapest path to a solution is to get yourself a beefy (>300W) computer power supply and design around that. It'll have a 12v supply you can use, with all sorts of built-in features (overheat protection, overcurrent protection, fused, switched, regulated, SMPS efficiency, on and on).