First electronics book for a complete beginner?

Discussion in 'Electronics Resources' started by chirieac, May 8, 2014.

1. chirieac

Thread Starter New Member

May 8, 2014
    Hi,

I'm a self-taught 28 years old programmer. I've decided to start learning electronics to expand my knowledge, but I don't know anything about it and my math skills are not good.
    With what kind of book can I start in this field?

I was thinking to buy Make: Electronics (Learning by Discovery)
    But I've also saw Practical Electronics for Inventors, which is newer and on the description page there is this quote: "If there is a successor to Make: Electronics, then I believe it would have to be Practical Electronics for Inventors...."

Which one would be better to start with?

2. studiot

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 9, 2007
    These books are quite different.

The first looks like a good hobbyists book, that concentrates on cobbling together some simple but showy circuits.

The second is much more serious and has a much wider coverage (it is a large book).
    The depth is really too much for a beginner, but could be useful to take forward and has many useful things such as the coding charts, constuction techniques etc.

An alternative that I like to recommend is by M Tooley

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Electronic-...1399545500&sr=8-2&keywords=tooley+electronics

This one is somewhere between the two. By studying and building useful circuits like power supplies signal generators and other things the reader develops not only a good basis in theory (without the difficult maths) but also some genuinely useful electronics kit.

3. Sparky49

Jul 16, 2011
    Hi,

The 'Dummies Guide to' series are quite useful, they tend to start off with very little maths, instead describing what each type of component does. Then they tend to just add a little bit of maths (like Ohm's law), but nothing trickier than multiplying two or three numbers.

I've just seen this 8 in 1 book, which may be useful: