First daughter board design for a breadboard

Padapolis

Joined Feb 21, 2013
OK I’m finally going to do it! I’m going to solder a circuit to a board. I’ve been fiddling with 555 timer circuits on a solderless breadboard, and to be honest it gets kind of tedious wiring the same section of circuit over and over and over again. That section of circuit is the 555 timer portion that drives the various IC’s and LED’s in the rest of the circuit. So I figured I could just build that section on a daughter board, which then I could just plug into the solderless breadboard and be done with it.

So I have two questions:
#1 - What type of board would be best for this application. Keeping in mind that I’m a beginner. I don’t want the daughter board to be much bigger than the installed components. Because the circuit will sit on top of a breadboard I don’t want it taking up too much valuable space.

#2 - What type of pins should I use? I’ll need something that can stand up to repeated plugging and unplugging from the breadboard.

I’m including an image of what I see this looking like, sort of.

:) Also just a quick shout out and thank you to Bill Marsden, for providing a wealth of information on 555 circuits. Being able to make lights go blink - blink anyway I want is really kind of fun, and it entertains my children at the same time.

Attachments

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
#1 - What type of board would be best for this application. Keeping in mind that I’m a beginner. I don’t want the daughter board to be much bigger than the installed components. Because the circuit will sit on top of a breadboard I don’t want it taking up too much valuable space.

#2 - What type of pins should I use? I’ll need something that can stand up to repeated plugging and unplugging from the breadboard.
#1-Whatever you can find really..Just a universal prototype circuit board with individual solder pads.