Finite state machines

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by Georacer, Apr 5, 2011.

  1. Georacer

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
  2. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    Post up your corrections here and we will alert Dennis to the changes. He can then port the changes across to the master copy at ibiblio. We will then run the update scripts here at AAC to update that version.

    Dave
     
  3. Georacer

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    Ok then. Here it is:

    In step 2, this:
    Should become that:
    Also, the third to last image that has the legend:
    Karnaugh Map for the Output variable Y
    should be substituted with the attachment.
     
  4. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    Are those the only corrections?

    Dave
     
  5. Georacer

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    Once we 're at it, let's make some fine retouchees. Please use search to locate the text in question.

    The phrase:
    That means that its output was dependent only by its current inputs.
    Should be:
    That means that its output is dependent only by its current inputs.

    The phrase:
    This is where our circuit starts from and where it waits for another button press
    needs a full stop at its end.

    The phrase:
    The second circle is the condition where the button is just pressed and our circuit needs to transmit a HIGH pulse.
    should be:
    The second circle is the condition where the button has just been pressed and our circuit needs to transmit a HIGH pulse.

    The phrase:
    Our example has only one output. In this example, the output is dependant only on the current states. This is the reason the outputs column has two 1: to result in an output Boolean function that is independant of input I.
    should be:
    Our example has only one output. Since we have built a Moore Finite State Machine, the output is dependent only on the current states. This is the reason the outputs column has two 1: to result in an output Boolean function that is independent of input I.

    The phrase:
    We fill them in with all the binary numbers from 0 to.
    doesn't need a fullstop at its end.

    The phrase:
    If we get to a row whose Current State number...
    should be:
    If we have to fill in a row whose Current State number...

    The phrase:
    What remains, is to determine the Boolean functions that determine the inputs of our Flip Flops and the Output.
    should be:
    What remains, is to determine the Boolean functions that produce the inputs of our Flip Flops and the Output.

    That will be all (I think...).
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  6. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    The way I like to do it is show the original, the post a second with all the changes in red.

    I'm in a similar situation, a lot of editing crap made it through incorrectly, plus some of the articles are out of sequence (I worded them in such a way they referred to previous articles). I'll be contacting Dennis separately.
     
  7. Georacer

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    If memory serves right, the article is more than 5 posts long, with the attachments. That would be kinda cumbersome.
     
  8. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    Take a look at my ESD article in the writers forum, I did it there.

    You don't have to print the whole article, just the sections that are being revised.
     
  9. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    144
    That's a good way of doing it. Dennis hasn't ever expressed a preference as far as I know, but personally I like the clarity of this method.

    Dave
     
  10. Georacer

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    I 've put them in bold, so I guess its the same more or less.
     
Loading...