Finding the right IC

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by guardado, Sep 28, 2012.

1. guardado

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 28, 2012
    Hi all,

So I know a little bit about electronics but not much so I would very much appreciate help. I'm an undergrad at MIT working with a group designing a rocket. I'm a physics major not an electronics major or equivalent but my professor wants me to do this:

In essence, some male pins plug into a box and some female pins "plug in" on the other side. Within the box there is a transistor. Is there an IC that could wire all of the male pins to the female pins while connecting only one set to the transistor. But that set that goes to the transistor should be user select-able and changeable.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    And apparently not an English or Logic major. :p

I mean, I can't understand what you want to accomplish. A transistor is often used as a switch. Do you want it to switch something? Is there a power supply somewhere in this scheme? Maybe you could sketch out a diagram?

A transistor has 3 pins. Do you want to switch all 3, or just the "control", or base pin? You may just need a manual switch, not an IC.

And if A is connected to B is connected to C, A is connected to C. You can use diodes to prevent current in the "wrong" direction, though, but they do not leave the signal completely unaltered.

Last edited: Sep 28, 2012
  3. guardado

Sep 28, 2012
    Excuse the crudeness, but maybe this will help get my point across.

4. guardado

Sep 28, 2012
    I appreciate the desire to help, but that's not necessary.