Finding 0V reference point without a schematic

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by bypass666, Jun 11, 2014.

1. bypass666

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 11, 2014
    Hi all

I am generally new to electronics but have had experience using an oscilloscope and multimeter using a schematic as a guide.

I was hoping to get into repairing run of the mill electrical products (amplifiers included).

My question is in regards to 0V ground reference points both for AC and DC in circuitry. The equipment i have experience with has schematics so i know where to reference and what to look for.

My knowledge has expanded greatly over the past year however i would like to know if there is any clear cut way to identify a reference point for measuring voltages (in any place) in equipment that has both DC and AC voltages (without a schematic)?

I am studying hard at the moment so i am sure i will learn but if anyone could shed some light that would be great.

2. Dodgydave

Distinguished Member

Jun 22, 2012
    Best place to start is the power supply, ground or 0V terminals.
  3. AnalogKid

Distinguished Member

Aug 1, 2013
    If there are large electrolytic capacitors, especially near a transformer or inductor, these might be power supply filter caps. Good place to start. Remember that many audio amps have bipolar supplies, so some of the filter caps will be connected with the + terminal to GND. But in this case there will be others with the - terminal to GND, and that is the clue.

4. alfacliff

Dec 13, 2013
    just watch out for switching suplies, the (usually two) large electrolytics are on the line side of the supply, and not a good ground to use to test with. usually 200 volts or so. if there isnt any other caps rated that high a voltage, they should be on the secondary side, and most filter caps have one lead connected to other caps, that is probably the ground.

Nov 30, 2010