Find the currents

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by sonutulsiani, Mar 1, 2010.

1. sonutulsiani

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 27, 2010
    Find currents I1 and I2 by using source transformation theorem

I converted the left 10A into 50V, the right most 100V to 10/3A.

Now what to do? Should I apply KVL or something? But won't that be wrong because it says to solve by source transformation theorem.

2. Heavydoody

Jul 31, 2009
    I am no expert myself, and I certainly don't claim to read minds. If it were me, I would do half of what you've done (undo the other half) and follow it up with a healthy dose of nodal analysis. I suspect the idea is to use source transformation to simplify the circuit to pave the way for another technique. But that's just a guess.

Mesh works here just as well.

Last edited: Mar 1, 2010
  3. t_n_k

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 6, 2009
    Yes - it's not clear how many successive source transformations are envisaged in the question.

One approach would be

1. As 'sonutulsiani' suggested in the original post for LHS & RHS sources.

2. Integrate the 10Ω with the above LHS transformation and re-transform to a current source with parallel resistor branch.

3. At this stage you have three resistors in parallel with a current source either side.

4. Reduce this to a single resistor and current source.

5. Calculate the voltage drop across the equivalent resistor.

6. This voltage is effectively the node voltage at the top of the 20Ω

7. Using this node voltage calculate the required currents from the original circuit with only the first LHS reduction done.

In any case it's not possible to do this purely by source transformation alone.

4. Heavydoody

Jul 31, 2009