Figuring power reqts. for portable generator?

Lindsaydoo

Joined May 10, 2015
Howdy all,

So happy to find you! I have a home-based food business that is scaling up right now but that I legally can't take to a commercial kitchen space unless I invest about $100k in new commercial equipment that doesn't work any differently from my current home-based equipment (yes, I really do know this...I'm a professional chef as well). On "paper", my equipment uses about 83 amps at full surge and probably 18% of that on average since all my equipment is cyclically pulling power. I am moving to a bit smaller place and an acquaintance suggested I get a portable generator if I needed an additional power source. I'd like to see how much I can expect to pull from such a generator since I haven't used one before.

Here's what I know:
1. My equipment is all 110V friendly.
2. I have looked online for some definition explanation and am not quite clear on some definitions I am seeing.
3. I've already had electricians review each property I've looked at, and ultimately they have been too conservative to give me a truly appropriate recommendation, which I didn't learn until I gave up my last apartment for the sake of a bigger power-loaded apartment and then my electrician admitted he had been being VERY conservative about his prior recommendations and that I didn't really need to move. That's when I stopped asking electricians for help and started investigating all this on my own.

Some questions I have are:
1. I've worked in amps and watts but not in power factors. How do I calculate power factor (like, in English, not in the equation and definitions I see online :))? Is the power factor the 18% I mentioned if I were to cycle every item on in spaced intervals?
2. What is single versus three-phase? I most likely have single-phase equipment but would like to be sure.