FFT in LTSpice

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by atferrari, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. atferrari

    atferrari Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,595
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Argentina
    LTSpice

    I am confused about this: what it is the actual reference (0 dB) as shown in the graphic of a FFT from a certain signal?

    In other words, the level of the harmonic content, is it compared to what?
  2. debjit625

    debjit625 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    790
    Location:
    Blue planet...
    Normally the FFT shows the result in decibel but you can change the unit to Volts or Amp,use "linear" option to repersent the magnitude.To, get the option window in LTSpice click on the decibel units on FFT window.

    Good Luck
  3. Ron H

    Ron H E-book Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    7,050
    Location:
    Idaho, USA (GMT-7)
    I ran a little experiment on a 1kHz sine wave. 1V RMS = 0 dB.
  4. atferrari

    atferrari Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,595
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Argentina
    Yes Ron, I was suggested to do a FFT exactly on that. It is clear for me now.

    Good Luck, thanks for your reply as well! :D Have to experiment with all that.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
General Electronics Chat LTspice model for CD4017? Monday at 11:30 AM
General Electronics Chat LTspice Models TIP41 C945 S9012 etc. Oct 24, 2014
General Electronics Chat LTSPICE Darlington model problem Oct 21, 2014
General Electronics Chat LTspice model for Level Shifter MC14504 Oct 17, 2014
General Electronics Chat LTSpice OPAmp Aug 6, 2014

Share This Page