Ferric chloride again :(

Robin Mitchell

Joined Oct 25, 2009
Hi everyone,

Just to make sure with people who have used ferric chloride, what will happen if it gets on my hands? some websites say that it does nothing and some say it burns.... so what is the truth? Is it letahl? Is it harmless to organic things?

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
Pick up some disposable rubber gloves and avoid the problem. Eye protection is a good idea too.
I've had some on my hands for a short time, I rinsed it off straight away and it didn't seem to do anything at all, but best to avoid it.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Other than stains, it's pretty harmless. I have reached into my sprayer tank to rescue a PCB that fell off the holder. I had the stuff up past my wrist. I rinsed it off - no burns or stains on my skin and nails. I would rate it as safer than HCl. I have been using the same batch for 8 years now, so it's economical to use.

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
I think the staining comes from the type of water used, can't prove it though. When I used distilled water it did not stain. The next time I mixed with tap water and it did stain. The same bottle of ferric chloride powder was used in both batches. A reaction with minerals in the tap water? Don't really know.

BillO

Joined Nov 24, 2008
Ferric Chloride itself is not very toxic. In solution in water, it can be quite acidic and may irritate sensitive skin. However, if you are using this to etch circuit boards, the by-products include Ferrous chloride and copper(II) chloride (CuCl2). Copper(II) chloride is toxic.

I'd advise the use of rubber gloves and tongs.

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
And by all means watch out for those stains! They don't come off at all at porous surfaces. My bathtub still has pale yellow spots after only one use of the mix.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008