fence gate door lock actuator

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by bimmerrx7, May 2, 2013.

1. bimmerrx7

Thread Starter New Member

May 2, 2013
    I have a 12V volt universal door lock actuator that I want to use in conjunction with my home automation system to open and close a latch on my fence gate. I can send a 12v current to the actuator and control the amount of time the current is on. My problem is that I need a way to alternate the polarity 12v current to the actuator to move it to the opened and closed position.

I assume there is some type of electronic circuit that can accomplish this, but I'm a novice and not sure how to do it.

Ideas, suggestions, questions are appreciated.
  2. stevemcd

Mar 8, 2013
    Do you want to press a button once to actuaute open and the next press actuate lock (that is "toggle") or do you want some other effect?

Is it to be a manaul switch type operation or driven by a controller of some kind?
  3. GopherT

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 23, 2012
    Many simple actuators use a spring to pull in one direction and the actuator action to pop the other direction. As in most engineered things, the complexity can be in the circuit or in a cleverly designed (and built) latch mechanism.
  4. gerty

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 30, 2007
    What kind of actuator is it..link/picture
    Is it a maintained type? send a pulse of one polarity to lock, send another pulse opposite polarity to unlock,much like a car door lock.
    bimmerrx7 likes this.
  5. bimmerrx7

Thread Starter New Member

May 2, 2013

No manual operation other than a manual override through my home automation system. I'm using Active Home Pro by X10. The actuator will move to the locked position when my alarm is armed and vice versa. I have a module that can generate a 12 v current when AHP sends the command.