Feedback on a voltmeter/ammeter design

gch

Joined Apr 3, 2011
I'm an experienced programmer, but I'm just venturing into electronics. I'm building a circuit based on an Amtel atmega168 to measure both voltage and the current drawn by a load. Specifically it will be connected between a pedal powered generator and a charge controller for charging lead acid batteries. I've cobbled together a circuit design from several internet sources and I'm looking for some feedback on it.

If you guys could give any tips on if the circuit is sufficient and if not on ways to improve it I'd be very much appreciative. See the attached for a schematic.

Attachments

gch

Joined Apr 3, 2011
If my calculations are correct then the circuit should be safe up to an absolute max of 80V. This is fine for me because the voltages I'm expecting will not exceed 24Volts. On the other hand, and this is where I'm unsure I'm dealing with potentially high currents of max 30Amps at 12Volts I figure.

Pin 23 will be used for monitoring voltage and pin 24 for current. I'm just not confident that the circuit can handle high current.

gch

Joined Apr 3, 2011
Basically P3 and P4 act as a voltage divider and will convert a max of 80 volts in to a max of 5V for the microcontroller ADC. The R1 0.47ohm 5watt resistor acts as the load to measure the current, while R2 protects against voltage I believe.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
What does the entire circuit look like? Having the voltage divider and the current sensing resistor intermingled may not work - at least it is hard to tell with a partial schematic.

What precision does your measurement require? Will you get that from the internal A to D?

be80be

Joined Jul 5, 2008
There no way that divider will work at 80 volt's he will be sending 32 volts to the adc pin
at 24 it would be 9 volts.

eblc1388

Joined Nov 28, 2008
There no way that divider will work at 80 volt's he will be sending 32 volts to the adc pin
at 24 it would be 9 volts.