Fan speed controller based on temp.

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Zapnologica, Jul 9, 2012.

1. Zapnologica

Thread Starter Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Howist guys,

I have build me a circuit that uses a few voltage regulates that produce a fair amount of heat even with the heat sinks.

Now i want to attach a fan to it, but i dont want it blasting away.

Where can i get a schematic for a simple temp based fan controller?

My original thoughts where just using a adjustable voltage regulator setup and replacing the potentiometer with a thermistor. i have had no experience with thermistor's but i think that the hotter they get the more resistance it is. so this will cause my voltage to drop as the heat goes up.

But basically i want to put a sensor ( i heave read u can use diodes, non transistors etc) on each heat sink, there are 2 and then have them control the voltage of the fan.

the ic would be receiving a 20v voltage.

Im sure there is a better and more efficient way in doing it that i dont know of. please help me out :)

Thanks

2. paulktreg

Distinguished Member

Jun 2, 2008
    Buy one of these for £6.99?

.. or just search on "temperature controlled fan circuit" for plenty of ideas?

3. cork_ie

Oct 8, 2011
    If you want a variable fan speed then the easiest (and most efficient) is a 555 timer based pwm circuit with the duty cycle proportional to temperature. The 555 timer will run in astable mode. Depending on the type of temp sensor and whether it has a positive or negative temp co-efficient you can vary the duty cycle by placing the sensor between either pin7 and positive line or pin 7 and Pins 2&6.

the other option is to switch the fan full on at a particular temp. Using a voltage divider (with your temp sensor as part of the divider) and zener diode to trigger a transistor on or off.

4. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009