explaining a rule from superposition Principle.

SUN SHINE

Joined Jan 6, 2017
Hello

I am studying one of my teacher lecture and i read that
in the Principle of Superposition:

With dependent sources, superposition can be applied when
control functions are external to the network containing the
sources.

but i couldn't understand it could you explain it with examples ?

RBR1317

Joined Nov 13, 2010
The method of superposition is to consider the contribution of each source independently. That is why only one source is active at a time while the other sources are zeroed. So how could a dependent source be considered independently?

SUN SHINE

Joined Jan 6, 2017
i understand this thing but i am asking abut the condition that the superposition principle can be applied as mention above
The method of superposition is to consider the contribution of each source independently. That is why only one source is active at a time while the other sources are zeroed. So how could a dependent source be considered independently?

RBR1317

Joined Nov 13, 2010
With the superposition method, the final answer is the addition of the contribution from each source. But with a dependent source one would need the final answer to get the control function in order to get the final answer (unless the control function was itself independent). But if you can get around that dichotomy, would the method still be considered superposition?

SUN SHINE

Joined Jan 6, 2017
But with a dependent source one would need the final answer to get the control function in order to get the final answer (unless the control function was itself independent). But if you can get around that dichotomy,

I'm sorry if i am disturbing you

could you just give an example or rephrase your replay with simpler words

RBR1317

Joined Nov 13, 2010