ESD

electronis whiz

Joined Jul 29, 2010
As a future net admin i have had the repair classes, and do it all the time in my free time on 1 of my 8 systems. i have always hered about ESD and use a strap or toch the case to prevent it. i can sort of see how it could fry a port but curos how this actaly happens. is it just from the 1KV+ with little amps or is it just because the sudden power to a single part. i can see 1kv frying something but static has so very little amperage i think it is odd it could do something like this. would like to hear any explination, stories about esd.

DMahalko

Joined Oct 5, 2008
It's a capacitive discharge, inside the integrated circuits. The many wires of the circuit are like little capacitor plates next to each other, with a very wimpy dieletric insulation layer between them that cannot stand up to much voltage differential.

The high voltage low amperage spark arcs across the gap between adjacent circuit traces, and can literally burn a hole right through insulating layers that either cause a short or open. Boom, the chip is dead.

But this spark and insulation damage is not always so strong as to absolutely kill the chip in one shot. It can arc across the gap and partially weaken the insulation. So sometimes the chip works fine, sometimes it doesn't.

You don't necessarily even need to see a visible spark for damage to occur. Insulators can carry charges on them, and doing things as minor as setting a styrofoam coffee cup next to some bare chips on a table can blow them up internally with no obvious sparking.

Separating charged plates tends to cause the stored voltage on the plate to rise, so just picking up a static charged object can cause a rise in voltage that arcs and blows the chips nearby.

ESD protective foam is a conductive material that pinned chips are inserted into. It basically grounds all the chip pins relative to each other so any charge exposure is rapidly balanced across all pins, and damage is prevented.