encoding of LED

bokkamaanus

Joined Feb 9, 2009
So I am trying to make a bi-color LED blink a code such that it could be decoded by a camera (I am using this for robot tracking purposes). I am using an attiny85V microcontroller and an avrisp mkII programmer. For compiling, I am using AVR studio 4. I am hoping to encode the LED with a Manchester code. Can anyone please give me any ideas/resources/few lines of code to help me get stated. I am able to blink the LED and make it toggle between the two colors. Please keep in mind that I am a newbie. Thanks a lot!

bokkamaanus

Joined Feb 9, 2009
well, I want to make the LED blink in a pattern that could be decoded by a camera. for example, it could blink a number a binary that can identified and decoded by a camera. a possible method would be to make the LED blink a code using manchester encoding technique. SO MY QUESTION IS: how to program the attiny85 to make an LED connected to it blink such a pattern. Thanks

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
For a Red/Yellow/Green (Bi-Color) LED to show up on a camera:

Green is Anode +
Red is Anode -
Yellow is AC (+/- > 200Hz for camera to 'see yellow')

Pin1 = Anode
Pin2 = Kathode/Cathode

Green:
Pin1 = High
Pin2 = Low
Pause xx (2 frames on camera)

Red:
Pin1 = Low
Pin2 = High
Pause xx (2 frames on camera)

Yellow:
Pin1=High
Pin2=Low
Pause x (very very short time)
Pin1=Low
Pin2=High
Pause x (very very short time)
Goto Yellow: (at least 50 times per frame)

I'm not sure why 3 colors are needed, but the above is how to "make" the colors, timing is very dependent on camera for max data rate.

If using a camera, why not use 9 single color LEDs and send data in parallel? 8 data, one for clock.

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
This is how it's done - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manchester_code.