Emergency Lighting (help needed)

Fwb2700

Joined Aug 19, 2014
Good morning afternoon night or evening depending where in the world you are.

I am having a little trouble with my small project being as it's been a while sonce I have actually built anything from scratch.

Firstly a bit about me.

I studied electronics at high school for 4 years so am reasonably handy although that was a while ago. I then studied as a electrician and now I am a telecomunications technician.

Project
I am trying to rebuild a emergency light circuit for my local sports club who I am heavily involved with. We had a very obsolete faulty 6v system which I am converting.

I am using automotive led flood lights as the club is large halls approx 5 lights at 18w each 12-24v dc

I have a transformer out of a broken ups which I have used and have made my rectification circuit.

I am planning on using 12v alarm batteries prob 4-5 in parallel but my transformer is pumping out a nice 19.2 vdc

What would be the best way to safely and constantly drop the 19v down to about 13-13.5 vdc to keep the batteries charged nicely?

I have already setup my relay etc to stop the batteries back feeding the while building when power is cut.

Just struggling to work out a good way to drop the voltage

Thanks in advance

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
What current can your transformer handle - does it have a rating?

Are your "alarm" batteries nicad or sealed lead-acid (SLA)? Between the rectified DC from the transformer and your battery, you need something that can control the charge on the battery and make sure that the charge current stays within specifications of both the transformer and the battery. That something - the charge controller - depends on the chemistry of the battery. SLA is probably easiest, since you can charge to a constant voltage.

Fwb2700

Joined Aug 19, 2014
What current can your transformer handle - does it have a rating?