Embedded Systems Based help

indianhits

Joined Jul 25, 2009
hello i am currently learning about MC's specially 8051 family by using internet as source.Now i am having some doubts regarding the MC's like what is the meaning of "interrupt"? and what is the use of it? & i want to connect my PC to my MC's circuit using USB(PC) to UART(MC) so will i need any convertor that will convert my PC's USB signal to UART signal.Not for code dumping i want to control my MC using my PC

correct me if i am wrong as i am new to this

Thank you!

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
Interrupts simply interrupt what the MCU was doing to respond to an event (pin change, timer overflow, etc) so it can service the event and then go back to what the MCU was doing before. You can write programs without using them (they are optional) but sometimes it simplifies things.

If your pc doesen't have a serial port you will need something like this:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/USB-2-0-to-Se...uting_CablesConnectors_RL?hash=item439d396811

and also a max232 chip or similar to convert the MCU's logic level signal to the correct levels.

maxpower097

Joined Feb 20, 2009
An interupt basically tells the cpu to stop what its doing and check out what happened. So say you have a timer interupt. When the timer runs out it causes an interupt. The CPU then jumps to the interupt service routine and either does what the routine wants and goes back to normal code, or doesn't. Not sure about the 8051 but the pics use a priority system for this. If the interupt has a higher priority then the cpu it runs the interupt. If the interupt has a lower priority then the cpu, the cpu continues normal operation. Basically in the most simple terms think of interupts like alarms to tell your mcu something has happened, or to go do something else.

indianhits

Joined Jul 25, 2009
thanks a million

so UART is noting but our RS232(i.e like our computer monitor i guess correct me if i am wrong.Thanks)