Embedded possibilities and my skill level - what bread crumbs will you give me to follow?

Jeremy Adair

Joined Nov 27, 2014
My background- I am an industrial plc programmer. I am familiar with Java, python, mysql, Motorola assembly, and a over 12 ladder logic/ human machine interfaces in the industrial enviornment. In my free time I enjoy microcontrollers, and it is a passion. I made a control system out of an avr 1284p (arduino) on a breadboard with around 12 different inputs and outputs for my senior thesis(garden control system). I just love to tear apart old printers and try to build useful items. I also have a 3D printer and am working on photo transfer pcb making. I want to tinker in my free time like Mr. Wozniak and create something small and repeatable that people may be willing to buy. I want to prototype boards, send them to fab houses and sell the result.

My question- I know arduino down to the hardware but that is my limit. I do not want to buy boards I want to buy chips and components. I was looking into arm and pic but got overwhelmed quickly. I worry about communities for help, open sources for design, and cost of replication. So far I can do all of this with arduino but with the limits of the 1284p chip I don't want to reach a dead end. For someone who has years of experience, what bread crumbs would you give me to follow and what things should I avoid? Oh, and most of my designs will be making something move or do... like an aquaponics ecosystem built in a tank with measurement and feeding devices, or similar applications.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
The Arduino platform is great for starting off and having fun. Once you've controlled that stepping motor or gotten that camera interface to work you want to get real serious. Choose a manufacturer, Atmel, Freescale, Microchip, ST, TI, any one, and learn how to program it with your own code. This way you will never be dependent on someone else's code.

Jeremy Adair

Joined Nov 27, 2014