elevator simulation project

Amy Parker 89

Joined Nov 13, 2010
Hello everyone, so sorry to bother you but I'm new here. Also I am new to the Electronics World so if may I ask, I would like to ask you for small help in my elevator simulation project. I am intend to build a 4 storey elevator simulation. The car elevator is suppose to run by using a dc motor with small weights. Also I am thinking to use proximity sensors for level indication and stepper motor for the door opens/closes. Also I am thinking to control it with the 8051C microcontroller. I have a big problem regarding the design of the hardware and I have merely no idea where to start from, can anybody help me please?

Many Thanks in Advice...........

Amy

Amy Parker 89

Joined Nov 13, 2010
Im so sorry sir/madam but i did not hijacted that thread. There was a problem when I tried to leave a post on that thread you mentioned, as it is two years old, the system didn't let me post anything there. That's why I started a new thread.

Now would would you be so kind, or anybody else to give me a little help pls?

Thanks very much and sorry again
Amy

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
All of this design is "hardware" except programming the processor. If you're new to the Electronics World, I'd strongly suggest starting with a much smaller project. Multiple motors, sensors and controls isn't a job for a beginner. Typically a first microprocessor project involves getting a light to come on when you press a button, for instance.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
I agree with John P.

Synchronising many events at once is QUITE difficult.

Unless you have been building circuits all year up to this point, it is hopeless with out some serious hand-holding.

You will need a power supply.

A transmission for the elevator unit.

A stepper driver that takes commands from a microcontroller to drive the stepper motor.

Door all the way opened and closed sensors.

Floor sensors.