Elevator (passenger lift) call collective.

Jeffnars

Joined Sep 9, 2012
Hello guys. I'm about to start a project to build a duplicate mini of a passenger lift. Just a model to sit in our office.

The project will consist of a Motor for drive, Floor positioning selector (micro switches) I'll be using 24v dc power supply.

At this stage there will be no doors. I will add that into the circuit diagram at a later date.

Ideally I would like to keep it based on relays. I'm open to a logic setup but it's been a while since I've touched logic circuits. Even if I get a complete logic on a diagram it would be hard for me to translate it into the real thing.

I don't want to use a stepper motor as this is not how a conventional lift works.

I understand the basics of a lift as I'm a lift engineer. Getting diagrams will not be a problem. However a call collective lift is difficult to come across.

Call collective as in u can press floors 1 and 2 and it will collect the calls and the lift will stop. Wait, then travel to the next stop.

I've searched the forum and there's not a lot on here. Yes there's a lot of posts but nothing complete.

Any comments welcome.

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
this would be easy to accomplish with a microcontroller..... but using basic switch and relay logic may get very confusing!

But still do-able.....

Maybe if you had some sort of sensor (IR sensor would work) on the lift itself, and have an IR emitter located on each "floor".... as the lift comes near the floor it will either detect a "Stop" or "Don't stop" signal...... as the user presses the call button on that floor, it will latch a relay to turn on the IR LED (Emitter) for that floor, and also send a "Run" signal to the main lift drive.... of course there would have to be some sort of circuit to delay the lift on each floor for a determined amount of time, you probably don't want it to stop briefly and keep going :)...

Jeffnars

Joined Sep 9, 2012