Electronic Tape 4xAAA convert.

maverick28

Joined Sep 2, 2013
Hey Guys. SO i;m new to the forum and signed up to ask this.

I have a project where i'm modifying one of these

http://www.homedepot.com/p/BLACK-DECKER-Auto-Tape-Measure-ATM100/100081220#.UiSKfjZHIjs

I Basically want to be able to plug it into a wall charger (get rid of the batteries 4x AAA) and be able to have some kind of timer so i can adjust how long the tape reels out for ( i hope you know what i mean). It currently has a rocker switch on it so in and out function where you have to hold it down.
ideally i would like to be able to set the time the motor expels the tape (unitl it reaches 2metres) then the timer ticks over, motor stops and the tape stays out there.. What do you think? im a rookie, studying mech eng but it has done me no justic with for the practical side of electronics.

cheers

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I did one of these a few months ago. It's a simple motor with a rubber wheel that cranks the tape out, and a coiled spring does the rewinding just because you pressed a button that moves the drive wheel away from the tape. This can be done with a 555 timer configured as a "one-shot" and you dial in the time with a potentiometer.

It will not rewind the tape, and the tape measure will be useless for any other job because you will have to take it apart to get the pushbutton switch out of the way of your power supply.

If you still want to make a 2 meter tape ejector, look up, "one-shot" or, "monostable" on this site.

http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_6/chpt_8/4.html

Last edited:

maverick28

Joined Sep 2, 2013
So once i get my Black and Decker tape, ill pull it apart and find a spring coil + a rubber wheel attached to a motor.